Social Media Then And Now

My first encounter with social media, not including AOL’s features, was seven years ago when my preteen friends and I decided to sign up for Friendster. Friendster is a social networking site where you interacted with friends, met new people and shared photos. Basically, it was our gateway drug to Myspace, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and today, the ever so popular Instagram.

Remember this guy?

Remember this guy?

I think social media is brilliant and I really respect the way it has evolved over the past few years. I can truly enjoy and identify with social media because it’s a way to project myself over several different mediums. Since I didn’t come out of the womb as a science or mathematical genius and lack any artistic capabilities, I was forced to search for an alternative way to express myself. Luckily for me, social media has become quite the hot commodity and it goes together quite nicely with my education in public relations. As a second semester senior, I’ve been keeping my eyes open for job opportunities. Since I really do enjoy everything I’ve learned thus far in Dr. William J. Ward’s “Social Media You Need to Know” course, I’ve been filtering my job searches to include social media. What does this mean for my future? I’m not really sure yet. All I know is that if I’m going to be working in public relations, I definitely want social media to be a part of the job description.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Social Media Then And Now

  1. Callan Young says:

    Really enjoyed your post Jill. I like the candid writing you use, but I would only suggest a slightly darker typeface, as I found myself squinting a bit while I read. Other than that I really liked it. I was never a friendster user – did you find that it actually helped prepare you for and thus propel yourself into the world of #socialmedia?

Leave a Reply

